
Old School-New School NBA Debate
I'm sure by now it's obvious that my opinions ruffle a few feathers with many fans. Let it be known I truly feel everything I write so it's not staged just to cause an uproar. So if I'm crazy for my opinions it's certified psych ward status crazy and not an act. If this sounds like a disclaimer for what I'm about to tell you about the NBA that's because it is!!!!
The new school players and teams of today are better than those of the 80's and 90's and it's kinda not close. If you don't believe me get two TVs, sit them side by side, and watch games of similar fashion from each era. When I say similar fashion don't show me game 46 of 82 in the regular season on the tail end of a back to back road trip for the new era. Then pop in tape of the greatest playoff moments of the 80's and 90's to compare for the sake of debate. It's no secret that NBA players don't really care for 82 games, pace themselves for that long grind, and play lethargic during many regular season games. That's just how it is in the NBA(and understandably so) past, present, and future. If you watch games side by side you will see a huge difference in talent and athletic ability heavily in favor of today's NBA.
I know many fans of the "golden age" 80's/90's just spit up their coffee or juice reading what I just said. Hopefully I didn't make you ruin the keyboard but below you will find some very valid arguments regardless if you think I'm right or wrong.
(Note: To set parameters for my argument I divided my time lines in the following way. Old school generation would consist of players who played the largest portion of their prime between 1980-1995; new school 1996-2010. Some people overlap that time line from the old school like Michael Jordan being in his prime until 96. While Shaq who was drafted in 92 was in his prime by 95 and I consider him as a new school player)
1. Athleticism (Some fundamentals don't work)
This is the primary reason why players from the new school get the nod in my book. The difference in athletic ability is night and day in favor of today's player. Older player's beef with this generation is they don't have the ball skills or fundamentals like players in their day. Can I let you in on a secret? Due to the level of athleticism in the NBA now some of the fundamentals that used to work are extinct and can't work anymore. Tell me how you box out Dwight Howard, Lebron James, Josh Smith, and other high risers for a rebound? Good luck with that!!! Either you can jump like them or you're not getting the rebound. Others will tell you team ball and passing aren't emphasized enough today. This is why I ask you to put two TV's side by side and watch games from both era's. You can't pass too much or the ball will get stolen unlike the 80's and 90's. It was such a free flowing game where getting a pick set for you opened up some daylight. Watch a game now you'll see cluttered driving lanes, long arms, cat quickness, and hydraulics for legs on 7 footers. For goodness sake big men push the ball on fast breaks and are serious threats on run outs and three point spot up shots now. The ultimate tell-tale sign of athletic ability now is hook shots aren't unblockable and unstoppable like we once thought. You see guys get up so high vertically now blocked hook shots have become commonplace
Now there are timeless players in the previous generation that could have played and match athleticism with today's players. This list is limited to MJ, Magic, Bird, Hakeem, and Isiah in my opinion. But other than that name me guys from the past that could athletically compete with guys from now. Let's break down some positions and you tell me who gets the nod.
(Top point guards Old School)
Magic Johnson, Isiah Thomas, Gary Payton, Tim Hardaway, John Stockton, Mark Jackson, Maurice Cheeks.
(Top point guards new school). Deron Williams, Tony Parker, Chris Paul, Steve Nash, Derrick Rose,Chauncey Billups Rajon Rondo, Russell Westbrook, Andre Miller. Granted Magic is the best point guard of all time but after you get past them top seven point guards there is a significant drop-off. Who are you gonna give me as a name? Terry Porter? Mark Price? Even if you go top 7 from each era it's in favor of the new school. Is Gary Payton better than Chauncey Billups? There's no way Mark Jackson would have been able to stay in front of Derrick Rose. Deron Williams would punish John Stockton. I don't care about Stockton being the all-time assist leader either because he didn't win a ring so his way didn't work. Who from end to end besides Magic and Isiah can even stay with Rajon Rondo? I didn't even name young studs like Stephen Curry, Tyreke Evans, and Brandon Jennings.
Shooting Guards:
(Old School): Michael Jordan, Clyde Drexler, Joe Dumars, Reggie Miller(feel free to name some people)
(New School): Kobe Bryant, Dwyane Wade, Ray Allen,Kevin DurantVince Carter, Tracy McGrady, Joe Johnson, Brandon Roy, Michael Redd.
You could argue that MJ is the best even though I think Kobe is in a dead heat as of right now with Jordan. I know most people don't want to hear that but I've also heard at least five of MJ's former teammates and opponents say this same thing. A couple said Kobe was better. Dwyane Wade is better than any other 2 guard from this era and Ray Allen and Joe Dumars are neck and neck. Neither T-Mac or Reggie Miller won a ring but I think you would agree with me that T-Mac is the overall more talented player?Kevin Durant is an MVP candidate and competing for the league scoring title in only his third year. Brandon Roy is a stud and Joe Johnson is the most underrated player in the NBA possibly. I honestly looked at list of players to jog my memory for a sleeper shooting guard from the old school era. I just can't see any other 2 guards from that era as a factor to argue for. If I missed one please let me know. Maybe Mitch Richmond but I think that's cutting it pretty close.
Small-Forwards:
(Old School): Larry Bird, Scottie Pippen, Dominique Wilkins, Alex English, James Worthy, Adrian Dantely, Bernard King, Tom Chambers
(New School): Lebron James, Paul Pierce, Carmelo Anthony, Caron Butler, Danny Granger, Andre Iguodala, Rudy Gay, Josh Smith
This position is the only one with a clear nod to the old school. But when it's said and done LBJ is gonna go down as the best small forward ever and maybe best player in general. Paul Pierce is better than anyone else from old school besides Pippen and ditto for Carmelo Anthony. But the depth of the 80s-90s with "Big Game" James Worth and Bernard King give them the edge but not for long!
Power Forwards:
(Old School): Kevin McHale, Moses Malone, Karl Malone, Dennis Rodman, Charles Barkley, Shawn Kemp
(New School): Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, Dirk Nowitzki,Pau Gasol, Amare Stoudemire, Rasheed Wallace, Chris Bosh, David West, Antawn Jamison, Rashard Lewis, Carlos Boozer, Zach Randolph
This position is the biggest disparity of talent. Tim Duncan is the best ever while KG is better than any other player from the old school. There was a few good ones from the 80s/90s but just not the depth. You could probably throw a couple more names on the old school list but then I could add players like Chris Webber as to make the list 13.
Center:
(Old School): Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Hakeem Olajuwon, Patrick Ewing, David Robinson
(New School): Shaq O'neal, Dwight Howard, Yao Ming, Andrew Bynum, Chris Kaman, Al Horford, Zydrunas Ilgauskas, Al Jefferson
Most people would on stats alone give Kareem Abdul-Jabbar the crown as best center ever. Well I'm not a big stat guy. I'm a "believe what my eyes tell me" type of guy. One things my eyes tell me is if Kareem faced Shaq that it would get quite ugly for Kareem. Look at the difference in body size, power, and athletic ability between the two. Could a team even put Kareem on Shaq or would they have to play another big body on him. Shaq is clearly the most dominant center ever. I would rank Hakeem my number two with Kareem at three. Once again the couple top centers of the past could compete with the top players of now. But the depth is so overwhelming in favor of the current NBA you really can't deny it. Once again, I urge you to give me a list of omissions from each position and I will tell you what I think.
Now that I've made my argument about depth of quality players I would like to break down other elements that I feel make today's NBA better
Zone vs. Man Defense: Can you imagine Kobe, Dwade, Lebron, Tim Duncan, Carmelo Anthony, Derrick Rose getting the luxury of playing against pure man-to-man defense of the 80s/90s? Stats would be inflated and all these guys would average over 30ppg. Especially against the weak 1 on 1 defensive players of that era. Today teams with all this size, quickness, and leaping ability can play a zone in conjunction with 24 second shot clock. This covers up the weak defenders and makes scoring on a good defense much more difficult than a pure man to man D.
One thing I would like to clarify also is NOBODY PLAYED DEFENSE IN THE NBA BEFORE THE BAD BOY PISTONS(even though I don't call what they played defense. More like thuggery and buffoonery in basketball shoes). Look at ESPN Classic games from pre-1988. You see a complete free flowing (i.e. no defense) game with open cutters and jump shots in the playoffs. If you don't feel like looking at games just google some box scores from back then. You will see 130-127ish type of games IN THE PLAYOFFS. The proof is in the pudding just check and see. The main reason I hear fans of old school NBA say the defense was better then is because they where much more physical.
Physical Play: I'll give you that the NBA was a little more physical than now. But the amount portrayed is drastically overboard. First of all they had to be more physical because they where isolated in man to man defense and also most players weren't great athletes to stay in front of people so physical play was allowed. You just can't let players do now what was allowed then. Players are much higher in the air, are moving faster, and will get much more seriously injured if you let that stuff go on. The problem with the NBA now is the refs are so inconsistent. They will let overly physical(borderline flagrant) plays happen on one end then call a ticky-tack foul on the next play at the other end. So people remember that the fouls called are soft and try to label the play as soft and not physical now. That's bologna stew!!!!!! If you watch an NBA playoff game now and tell me it isn't physical, your just saying that to hear yourself speak. Watch the Boston Celtics, Orlando Magic, and Denver Nuggets and tell me they aren't REALLY PHYSICAL! How about watching the Cavs and Houston Rockets and tell me the same thing. Sorry it's just not true and deep down you know it. YouTube Kevin Garnett illegal screens and see what the players get away with for real.
(Note: My theory is you can't hit what you can't catch and there's just no way you can convince me that sub-par athletes can stay with much quicker and explosive athletes because they're physical. Part of you knows this to be true. No way guys could stay in front of Dwade and Lebron because they are physical-Not a Chance).
In fairness to 80s and 90s I break the team aspect down in two sections. Between 1980-1990 there was a few great teams that could compete in this era. You had super power players together on the top teams like today. The Lakers, Sixers, Celtics, and Pistons had great teams. But from 1990-1999 the NBA was severely watered down. This is why I don't put MJ on God like status like many others. He routinely lost against the top teams of the 80s and feasted on a bunch of teams that had no business in The NBA Finals when those top teams got old and retired. Look at some of the starting five units MJ played against. Portland (Terry Porter, Clyde Drexler, Jerome Kersey, Buck Williams, and Kevin Duckworth), Utah (John Stockton, Jeff Hornacek, Byron Russell, Karl Malone, and Greg Ostertag), Seattle (Gary Payton, Hersey Hawkins, Detlef Schrempf, Shawn Kemp, Ervin Johnson). The Lakers had a very aged team with an older Magic and Vlade Divac instead of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. The best team they played was the Phoenix Suns with Kevin Johnson, Dan Marjerle, Charles Barkley among others. But even that team had weak links like Oliver Miller at Center. These teams wouldn't cut the mustard in today's NBA. Would any of these teams have beat great teams of this generation like the Lakers, Spurs, or Celtics?These teams would be 3rd, 4th, or 5th seeds at best in the playoff seeding now. Even the teams the Bulls played in the eastern conference weren't overly talented. Those New York teams had decent talent but not overwhelming; ditto for Cleveland and Indiana. These teams aren't even equipped to beat teams such as the 99-00 Trail Blazers that lost in the western conference finals against the Lakers. Nor would they have beat the Mike Bibby and Chris Webber led Sacramento Kings. Neither of these teams won a ring but would have had a much better chance had they come along only a few years before.
I know it's hard to compare generations because the advancement in nutrition, training, and knowledge has improved with time. That's not fair but neither is life. The fact is you can't predict how players of the past would have played with all these improvements. All we can go by is what we see. From what I've seen it's my belief that the new school is better and this article presents a pretty darn good case!
This article was written by Bob Billow AKA "The Book on Sports"


