Who's Better Jimmy Clausen or Sam Bradford

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Old-School Vs New School NBA


Old School-New School NBA Debate

I'm sure by now it's obvious that my opinions ruffle a few feathers with many fans. Let it be known I truly feel everything I write so it's not staged just to cause an uproar. So if I'm crazy for my opinions it's certified psych ward status crazy and not an act. If this sounds like a disclaimer for what I'm about to tell you about the NBA that's because it is!!!!

The new school players and teams of today are better than those of the 80's and 90's and it's kinda not close. If you don't believe me get two TVs, sit them side by side, and watch games of similar fashion from each era. When I say similar fashion don't show me game 46 of 82 in the regular season on the tail end of a back to back road trip for the new era. Then pop in tape of the greatest playoff moments of the 80's and 90's to compare for the sake of debate. It's no secret that NBA players don't really care for 82 games, pace themselves for that long grind, and play lethargic during many regular season games. That's just how it is in the NBA(and understandably so) past, present, and future. If you watch games side by side you will see a huge difference in talent and athletic ability heavily in favor of today's NBA.

I know many fans of the "golden age" 80's/90's just spit up their coffee or juice reading what I just said. Hopefully I didn't make you ruin the keyboard but below you will find some very valid arguments regardless if you think I'm right or wrong.

(Note: To set parameters for my argument I divided my time lines in the following way. Old school generation would consist of players who played the largest portion of their prime between 1980-1995; new school 1996-2010. Some people overlap that time line from the old school like Michael Jordan being in his prime until 96. While Shaq who was drafted in 92 was in his prime by 95 and I consider him as a new school player)

1. Athleticism (Some fundamentals don't work)
This is the primary reason why players from the new school get the nod in my book. The difference in athletic ability is night and day in favor of today's player. Older player's beef with this generation is they don't have the ball skills or fundamentals like players in their day. Can I let you in on a secret? Due to the level of athleticism in the NBA now some of the fundamentals that used to work are extinct and can't work anymore. Tell me how you box out Dwight Howard, Lebron James, Josh Smith, and other high risers for a rebound? Good luck with that!!! Either you can jump like them or you're not getting the rebound. Others will tell you team ball and passing aren't emphasized enough today. This is why I ask you to put two TV's side by side and watch games from both era's. You can't pass too much or the ball will get stolen unlike the 80's and 90's. It was such a free flowing game where getting a pick set for you opened up some daylight. Watch a game now you'll see cluttered driving lanes, long arms, cat quickness, and hydraulics for legs on 7 footers. For goodness sake big men push the ball on fast breaks and are serious threats on run outs and three point spot up shots now. The ultimate tell-tale sign of athletic ability now is hook shots aren't unblockable and unstoppable like we once thought. You see guys get up so high vertically now blocked hook shots have become commonplace

Now there are timeless players in the previous generation that could have played and match athleticism with today's players. This list is limited to MJ, Magic, Bird, Hakeem, and Isiah in my opinion. But other than that name me guys from the past that could athletically compete with guys from now. Let's break down some positions and you tell me who gets the nod.

(Top point guards Old School)
Magic Johnson, Isiah Thomas, Gary Payton, Tim Hardaway, John Stockton, Mark Jackson, Maurice Cheeks.

(Top point guards new school). Deron Williams, Tony Parker, Chris Paul, Steve Nash, Derrick Rose,Chauncey Billups Rajon Rondo, Russell Westbrook, Andre Miller. Granted Magic is the best point guard of all time but after you get past them top seven point guards there is a significant drop-off. Who are you gonna give me as a name? Terry Porter? Mark Price? Even if you go top 7 from each era it's in favor of the new school. Is Gary Payton better than Chauncey Billups? There's no way Mark Jackson would have been able to stay in front of Derrick Rose. Deron Williams would punish John Stockton. I don't care about Stockton being the all-time assist leader either because he didn't win a ring so his way didn't work. Who from end to end besides Magic and Isiah can even stay with Rajon Rondo? I didn't even name young studs like Stephen Curry, Tyreke Evans, and Brandon Jennings.

Shooting Guards:
(Old School): Michael Jordan, Clyde Drexler, Joe Dumars, Reggie Miller(feel free to name some people)

(New School): Kobe Bryant, Dwyane Wade, Ray Allen,Kevin DurantVince Carter, Tracy McGrady, Joe Johnson, Brandon Roy, Michael Redd.

You could argue that MJ is the best even though I think Kobe is in a dead heat as of right now with Jordan. I know most people don't want to hear that but I've also heard at least five of MJ's former teammates and opponents say this same thing. A couple said Kobe was better. Dwyane Wade is better than any other 2 guard from this era and Ray Allen and Joe Dumars are neck and neck. Neither T-Mac or Reggie Miller won a ring but I think you would agree with me that T-Mac is the overall more talented player?Kevin Durant is an MVP candidate and competing for the league scoring title in only his third year. Brandon Roy is a stud and Joe Johnson is the most underrated player in the NBA possibly. I honestly looked at list of players to jog my memory for a sleeper shooting guard from the old school era. I just can't see any other 2 guards from that era as a factor to argue for. If I missed one please let me know. Maybe Mitch Richmond but I think that's cutting it pretty close.

Small-Forwards:
(Old School): Larry Bird, Scottie Pippen, Dominique Wilkins, Alex English, James Worthy, Adrian Dantely, Bernard King, Tom Chambers

(New School): Lebron James, Paul Pierce, Carmelo Anthony, Caron Butler, Danny Granger, Andre Iguodala, Rudy Gay, Josh Smith

This position is the only one with a clear nod to the old school. But when it's said and done LBJ is gonna go down as the best small forward ever and maybe best player in general. Paul Pierce is better than anyone else from old school besides Pippen and ditto for Carmelo Anthony. But the depth of the 80s-90s with "Big Game" James Worth and Bernard King give them the edge but not for long!

Power Forwards:
(Old School): Kevin McHale, Moses Malone, Karl Malone, Dennis Rodman, Charles Barkley, Shawn Kemp

(New School): Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, Dirk Nowitzki,Pau Gasol, Amare Stoudemire, Rasheed Wallace, Chris Bosh, David West, Antawn Jamison, Rashard Lewis, Carlos Boozer, Zach Randolph

This position is the biggest disparity of talent. Tim Duncan is the best ever while KG is better than any other player from the old school. There was a few good ones from the 80s/90s but just not the depth. You could probably throw a couple more names on the old school list but then I could add players like Chris Webber as to make the list 13.

Center:
(Old School): Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Hakeem Olajuwon, Patrick Ewing, David Robinson

(New School): Shaq O'neal, Dwight Howard, Yao Ming, Andrew Bynum, Chris Kaman, Al Horford, Zydrunas Ilgauskas, Al Jefferson

Most people would on stats alone give Kareem Abdul-Jabbar the crown as best center ever. Well I'm not a big stat guy. I'm a "believe what my eyes tell me" type of guy. One things my eyes tell me is if Kareem faced Shaq that it would get quite ugly for Kareem. Look at the difference in body size, power, and athletic ability between the two. Could a team even put Kareem on Shaq or would they have to play another big body on him. Shaq is clearly the most dominant center ever. I would rank Hakeem my number two with Kareem at three. Once again the couple top centers of the past could compete with the top players of now. But the depth is so overwhelming in favor of the current NBA you really can't deny it. Once again, I urge you to give me a list of omissions from each position and I will tell you what I think.

Now that I've made my argument about depth of quality players I would like to break down other elements that I feel make today's NBA better

Zone vs. Man Defense: Can you imagine Kobe, Dwade, Lebron, Tim Duncan, Carmelo Anthony, Derrick Rose getting the luxury of playing against pure man-to-man defense of the 80s/90s? Stats would be inflated and all these guys would average over 30ppg. Especially against the weak 1 on 1 defensive players of that era. Today teams with all this size, quickness, and leaping ability can play a zone in conjunction with 24 second shot clock. This covers up the weak defenders and makes scoring on a good defense much more difficult than a pure man to man D.

One thing I would like to clarify also is NOBODY PLAYED DEFENSE IN THE NBA BEFORE THE BAD BOY PISTONS(even though I don't call what they played defense. More like thuggery and buffoonery in basketball shoes). Look at ESPN Classic games from pre-1988. You see a complete free flowing (i.e. no defense) game with open cutters and jump shots in the playoffs. If you don't feel like looking at games just google some box scores from back then. You will see 130-127ish type of games IN THE PLAYOFFS. The proof is in the pudding just check and see. The main reason I hear fans of old school NBA say the defense was better then is because they where much more physical.

Physical Play: I'll give you that the NBA was a little more physical than now. But the amount portrayed is drastically overboard. First of all they had to be more physical because they where isolated in man to man defense and also most players weren't great athletes to stay in front of people so physical play was allowed. You just can't let players do now what was allowed then. Players are much higher in the air, are moving faster, and will get much more seriously injured if you let that stuff go on. The problem with the NBA now is the refs are so inconsistent. They will let overly physical(borderline flagrant) plays happen on one end then call a ticky-tack foul on the next play at the other end. So people remember that the fouls called are soft and try to label the play as soft and not physical now. That's bologna stew!!!!!! If you watch an NBA playoff game now and tell me it isn't physical, your just saying that to hear yourself speak. Watch the Boston Celtics, Orlando Magic, and Denver Nuggets and tell me they aren't REALLY PHYSICAL! How about watching the Cavs and Houston Rockets and tell me the same thing. Sorry it's just not true and deep down you know it. YouTube Kevin Garnett illegal screens and see what the players get away with for real.
(Note: My theory is you can't hit what you can't catch and there's just no way you can convince me that sub-par athletes can stay with much quicker and explosive athletes because they're physical. Part of you knows this to be true. No way guys could stay in front of Dwade and Lebron because they are physical-Not a Chance).

In fairness to 80s and 90s I break the team aspect down in two sections. Between 1980-1990 there was a few great teams that could compete in this era. You had super power players together on the top teams like today. The Lakers, Sixers, Celtics, and Pistons had great teams. But from 1990-1999 the NBA was severely watered down. This is why I don't put MJ on God like status like many others. He routinely lost against the top teams of the 80s and feasted on a bunch of teams that had no business in The NBA Finals when those top teams got old and retired. Look at some of the starting five units MJ played against. Portland (Terry Porter, Clyde Drexler, Jerome Kersey, Buck Williams, and Kevin Duckworth), Utah (John Stockton, Jeff Hornacek, Byron Russell, Karl Malone, and Greg Ostertag), Seattle (Gary Payton, Hersey Hawkins, Detlef Schrempf, Shawn Kemp, Ervin Johnson). The Lakers had a very aged team with an older Magic and Vlade Divac instead of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. The best team they played was the Phoenix Suns with Kevin Johnson, Dan Marjerle, Charles Barkley among others. But even that team had weak links like Oliver Miller at Center. These teams wouldn't cut the mustard in today's NBA. Would any of these teams have beat great teams of this generation like the Lakers, Spurs, or Celtics?These teams would be 3rd, 4th, or 5th seeds at best in the playoff seeding now. Even the teams the Bulls played in the eastern conference weren't overly talented. Those New York teams had decent talent but not overwhelming; ditto for Cleveland and Indiana. These teams aren't even equipped to beat teams such as the 99-00 Trail Blazers that lost in the western conference finals against the Lakers. Nor would they have beat the Mike Bibby and Chris Webber led Sacramento Kings. Neither of these teams won a ring but would have had a much better chance had they come along only a few years before.


I know it's hard to compare generations because the advancement in nutrition, training, and knowledge has improved with time. That's not fair but neither is life. The fact is you can't predict how players of the past would have played with all these improvements. All we can go by is what we see. From what I've seen it's my belief that the new school is better and this article presents a pretty darn good case!


This article was written by Bob Billow AKA "The Book on Sports"

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Just My Thoughts

Tim Tebow going in the 1st round is a joke....Jimmy Clausen going in the 2nd round is a bigger joke(but he landed in the perfect spot)...The 49ers, Ravens, Giants, Eagles,Panthers, and Seahawks had great drafts...Deron Williams is the best point guard in the NBA...Brian Kelly will be the best coach in college football and bring Notre Dame at least 2 national championships....The University of Michigan will be scary good with Denard Robinson and Devin Gardner at QB if only they can field an average defense(go to www.thepigskinguru.blogspot.com to see U of M spring game highlights).....SEC football is the most overrated entity in sports...The Boston Red Sox are cooked goose and not good enough anymore...The Yankees will win three world series rings in a row after getting Curtis Granderson...Tiger Woods will win a Major this year and I'm predicting the British Open....The New York Jets are going to win the Super Bowl this year...The NFC and AFC East are brutal and teams from divisions like this should get in the playoffs over winners of weak divisions with lesser records...

This was written by Bob Billow AKA "The Book on Sports"

Monday, April 19, 2010

Sam Bradford vs. Jimmy Clausen

NFL Draft Scoop

Ahhh yesss.....It's that time of year again where NFL GM's and draft analyst send their brains into overload and outsmart themselves into dumb draft picks and pink slips!!! It's rampant before the Scouting Combine but a downright epidemic after. I would pay money to be a GM of any team in the offseason just to take advantage of these monumental blunders!

Every GM knows the saying "the eye in the sky doesn't lie" is true. But these same GMs also can't help themselves from trying to boost their genius quota to impress the masses. So what do they do? Try to come up with a formula to create a Hall of Fame football version of Frankenstein by computing hand size, forty times, arm length, and vertical jump to name a few. "The Eye in The Sky Doesn't Lie"! All you have to do is remember this and you will be OK. If I was a GM here is what my rule of thumb would be for the NFL Combine. Only go to do your prospects health checkouts and interviews. Then exit the arena as fast as you possibly can before you get to see one player do any drill. When you do get the results from the combine, only let guys that look great on film boost their stock with you by testing well. NEVER(EVER) let an average guy on film get in good graces with you because he blazed a forty or has ideal height and weight ETC.

With that said here's the real scoop on the 2010 NFL Draft

This isn't what will happen but what should happen-enjoy!

Most Underrated:
Jimmy Clausen-QB-Notre Dame: Have the St. Louis Rams watched tape on this guy? You can't show me a guy on film who can place the ball on the money like The Boy Wonder Jimmy Clausen! Sam Bradford is more athletic but that's where the comparison ends folks. Show me a QB on film in the last 7-10 years that can throw the 15 yard sideline/out pattern from the opposite hash mark better than Jimmy Clausen coming out of college! Let me make this short and sweet; you can't! That's the ultimate measuring stick throw of the NFL folks. Not to mention his "stork dropping a baby out of the sky" deep ball to go along with a quick release. He can make every throw right on the money most of the time. Plus he's clutch and I don't care if his career record at ND says different. Irish fans shudder at the thought of what last seasons record would have looked like minus his captain comeback heroics. Even the games ND lost Jimmy played out ice water in the veins clutch. The knock on him is his hands are too small (lol), he's cocky, maybe not a leader, and maybe reached his physical and mental peak. If you can throw perfect deep balls in the pouring rain and in any South Bend, IN weather your hands can't be too small. I love a cocky QB and his leadership is very much a strength-it's evident on film. As far as his physical and mental peek, I'm pleased with Jimmy's physical tools even if they never improve and you can NEVER just say a person won't improve mentally. Especially when that person mastered a Super Bowl proven pro-style offense.

Eric Berry-FS-Tennessee: I know people have him rated high on their draft boards but if he's not number 1 on yours he's not high enough. He's Ed Reed and Troy Polamalu rolled in one. Ask every body's favorite college football player Tim Tebow about Mr. Berry's play making ability. Anything you want a safety to do he can plus some!

Brandon Graham-DE-University of Michigan: You heard it here first; Brandon Graham will be the best defensive end in this draft. He may end up the best pro of anybody on the defensive side of the draft aside from Eric Berry. What's not to like about big BG? Great motor, brute strength, great hands, instincts, mean, physical, with great production! Should be a top 10 pick but might fall out of Top 10

Jordan Shipley-WR/KR/PR-Texas: His film jumps off the screen at you. His routes are sharp enough to cut a diamond and he's fast with great hands. His main problem is durability which is a very big problem. But if you're loaded at other places and need a WR take Shipley.

Golden Tate-WR/PR-Notre Dame: If Notre Dame had a better season Golden Tate should have been the Heisman Trophy Winner. If you think I'm crazy youtube his 2009 season and tell me what you think afterwards. He would be a perfect fit for the Miami Dolphins to go with upcoming QB Chad Henne and the wildcat package they run. He's everything you want in a player besides height. But the good news is he's the best jumpball reciever in this draft so his height doesn't matter. Dez Bryant is the best WR in the draft but Tate is comfortably in the second spot behind him on my board.


Overrated Players:

Taylor Mays-SS-USC: A poor man's Roy Williams (not good) with decent run stopping skills but very limited in coverage. Got exposed all season long as a weakness in the USC secondary. Will go in top 20 picks but I wouldn't take him until at least the 3rd round. His instincts are quite poor which I don't think is something you can 'coach up' too much.

Joe Haden-CB-Florida: He's a little slight and didn't play against great offensive skill perimeter players being in the SEC. He has decent coverage skills but I wouldn't waste a top 5 or 10 pick on him. He doesn't strike me as a franchise corner. Will be a solid number two corner in NFL. Think Lito Sheppard and that's about Haden's potential cap.

Bruce Campbell-OT-Maryland: He's a looker that's for sure. This is one of those guys I told you will get drafted for how they look in shorts and workouts. Watch his tape and you will see good DE's in the NFL will eat his lunch. Doesn't keep good leverage or pad level and lacks a mean streak. He would be a 3rd round grade at best for me.

Gerald McCoy-DT-Oklahoma: I think McCoy is good but just not the top player in the draft like some are trying to say. I've watched plenty of Sooners games and he is a player that stood out but didn't make Top 5 worthy type plays. Not real strong in the upper body and will wear down late in games. Will thrive in a Tampa 2 scheme but struggle in a system that stresses stopping the run first.


Must(But Won't)Do List:

St. Louis Rams: Must select Jimmy Clausen but won't due to his small hands??? Never mind he's scary accurate, tough, processes information fast and has a quick release.

Detroit Lions: Must select Eric Berry or trade down for two 1st round picks. I'm a big believer in building teams in units so this is a perfect fit. Match Berry with the talented Louis Delmas to create a top safety tandem in the NFL. All the sudden your leaky secondary can become a strength. Then go hard after a top corner in a trade. On paper at least you have one unit you can hang your hat on as a strength on the team. Maybe add U of M corner Donovan Warren in the 2nd round. If you trade down think Left Tackle such as Bryan Bulaga from Iowa and Wide Receiver in Dez Bryant or C.J. Spiller at running back.

San Francisco 49ers: Must trade up and get Clausen and/or Sam Bradford then add a WR that can strech the field such as Golden Tate to go with Michael Crabtree. Jordan Shipley would be a great addition as well.

Cleveland Browns: Must get the best offensive player on their board with their first three picks. Getting a sleeper like Dexter McCluster(Ole Miss-RB) would be a great fit in the 2nd round. They have no play makers on offense other than Joshua Cribbs and he's really a Kick/Punt Returner.

If only your favorite team would listen to me they would be alright!!! Check back in often for more draft buzz and thoughts.


This article was written by Bob Billow AKA "The Book on Sports"


Tell me what you think

Saturday, April 17, 2010

NBA Playoff Preview


OH YES!!!!! I'm a football guy but there's nothing like the NBA Playoffs. The format of the NBA Playoffs is the closest you can get to a "perfect sports world" including NCAA March Madness. As much as I like one game settings they don't always give you the best teams on the biggest stage. The winner of every seven game series ever played has and always will be the better team and I firmly believe that.

My wishes for a NBA Finals Match up is the same as most others outside of Orlando, Boston, Denver, Dallas, and San Antonio.
Kobe vs. Lebron; The Lake Show vs The Kings Court! This match up HAS TO happen! What would be a bigger spectacle in the history or pro sports than Kobe vs Lebron?

As for what will actually happen............

Eastern Conference Preview: Here's where the beauty of a seven game series rears it's pretty head. I will eliminate teams like Milwaukee, Chicago, Atlanta, Miami, and Charlotte from the bulk of the preview because they have zero chance of winning the east, let alone the NBA Championship. To any fans of these teams it's nothing personal so I'm not bashing but just being realistic. So with that we will skip to the 2ND round match ups

Cleveland vs. Boston: I wanted to include Boston on the list of zero chance to win a ring list but I will give them the benefit of the doubt for this conversation. With that said they don't have a chance to beat Boston with Lebron flying all over the court (sorry I meant air). Kevin Garnett has the Chris Webber knee and Rasheed Wallace is about as bad as I knew he was gonna be as a member of The Celtics. Shaq's size neutralizes Kendrick Perkins presence and Cleveland chases Boston off of the three point line with excellent perimeter defense. Then Lebron leaps tall buildings in a single bound leading to Celtics players on pictures with Kenny Smith and Charles Barkley "gone fishin" during TNT's Inside The NBA.

Extra Point: The best way to beat the Cavs is make Lebron a complete scorer and nothing else on the offensive end. The Cavs are at their best when Lebron is driving and kicking and making plays at the basket. You know going into the game nobody on your team can stay in front of Lebron. Help defense won't even keep him from the basket. So how about scraping the help D and stay on the 3-point shooters. Live with the 40 or 50 he's gonna score and limit those spot up 3's and the rest of the team to 40 points. It's easier said than done but this is the best shot you have.


Orlando vs. Atlanta: The Hawks are a young, flashy, and entertaining team but that's what they will always be with this particular group. Nothing against them but they just don't have a chance against Orlando other than to push the series to 6 games. Dwight Howard is the other alien besides Lebron in the NBA athletically and Jameer Nelson is healthy unlike last year. Orlando is just better than Atlanta.

Eastern Conference Finals:
Cleveland vs. Orlando; Much as I want to see Cleveland in the Finals I don't know if it's gonna happen. As much flack as Stan Van Gundy takes as Orlando's coach he understood that to beat the Clevland Lebron's make The King score first and pass second. Combine that with the fact that they upgraded their team by having Vince Carter instead of Hedu Turkoglou with a healthy Jameer Nelson and I'm worried it will be a Finals rematch from last year. Not to mention Dwight Howard doesn't allow teams any offensive rebounds or easy buckets and I smell doom for my wish of Kobe vs. Lebron. However, I'm a Laker fan so as long as we win I really don't care-LOL.

Western Conference Preview: Just like the east I will eliminate Oklahoma City, Utah, Portland, and Phoenix from the discussion.

L.A. vs. Utah/Denver winner: Utah vs Denver will be the best matchup of the first round. The winner of this series can push the Lakers to 6 or possibly 7 games. But the length of LA will just be too much. Ron Artest will show exactly why they brought him in. Going into the season I knew LA wouldn't be a better regular season team with Ron Artest. Artest is for lack of a better word an ugly basketball player. His game isn't really a fit for any offense he's just skilled. But when the playoffs get nitty gritty and the games get slowed down and ugly Ron-Ron will shine bright. Mark my words and bet your money on LA.

Phoenix vs. San Antonio: If you notice I didn't put the Dallas/San Antonio winner. In other words I think Dallas is going down as the 2ND seed. Greg Popovich understands the grind of an NBA season and his team. He knows his team is older and he sacrifices regular season wins to rest players to be fresh for the playoffs. He knows that if you're a better team you'll win without home court advantage as well. The Spurs are clicking and primed to take down Dallas. With that said I also think we are in store for a an old school rivalry renewed. I have the Spurs taking down Phoenix in 5 or 6 games and playing LA for the West Crown

Western Conference Finals:

L.A. vs. San Antonio: Lakers in 5 or 6 games. The west is set up perfect for the Lakers to make another title run. All the teams besides LA are real good but not great. So they have many 50+ win teams to push them all year long but nobody to take them down. Besides injury that almost assures them a trip to the Finals. While the east is set up the exact opposite. It's very weak outside of the top 3-4 teams but those top teams all have the potential to be great.

NBA FINALS:

L.A. vs. Orlando; Ditto from last year. Lakers win in 5 or 6 due to superior length, athleticism, and too much Kobe Bryant.

Do you now see why I love 7 game series? Look how easy those 7 games make my job!

I eliminated half the field before the playoffs even started and you can be assured I won't be wrong about a single team on that list of playoff castaways. Making the pot at the end of the rainbow 24kt gold and not fools gold. The best vs best for the world to see. The games can't start soon enough!

This was written by Bob Billow AKA "The Book on Sports"

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Kobe Bryant vs. Lebron James "Who's Better?" Provided by (NBA.com)

The Great Debate: Kobe vs. Lebron

Might as well start the blog right. Kobe vs. Lebron! One is the gas while the other is the match in the sports debate world. Say the names, stand back, and watch the flame ignite. But I'm here(as usual) to settle this debate once and for all Read on............ Nothing But The Truth: Kobe vs. Lebron Let's face it, this question of who's better never gets old and can't die down if you wanted it to. So who's better, Kobe or Lebron? Before I give my two cents let me state that I am a Kobe guy thru and thru! This may compromise my journalistic principles of being non-biased but i confess, Kobe is my guy and always has been since he was in high school. With that said, I'm not biased to the point of blinding myself from the obvious(at least I don't think so, you can be the judge). So it comes as no surprise that I feel Kobe is still the hands down best player in the and will break down why a la fact or fiction style. Fact or Fiction: Lebron is having a better season than Kobe? FACT: I think Kobe is better but night in night out Lebron can sustain and expend more energy over 82 games do to sheer athleticism and youthful legs. Lebron isn't bothered by back to back road games or three games in four nights while Kobe has to pace his energy throughout stretches of games in these scenarios. However, in playoff formatted schedules(at least 1 day off between every game) Kobe is just plain cruel to the opponent. Fact or Fiction: Kobe was having a better season than Lebron before he broke a finger on his shooting hand? FACT: Multiple buzzer beating game winners, several 40 point games, left handed shots from all over the court, best record in NBA without Pau Gasol, best defensive team in NBA, etc, etc. Kobe also revealed to us his redefined post-game thanks to off-season tutorials from the great Hakeem Olajuwon. Lebron was playing stellar but just not as stellar as the Black Mamba Fact or Fiction: Lebron James is the MVP this year barring and unusual circumstance popping up? FACT: Yup, I said it hope your happy. It's not easy for us Kobe fans to give Lebron credit because you King James disciples take that inch and run a country mile with it in the great debate. So feel free to get your track shoes out and run with this until playoff time. P.S. Kevin Durant is nipping at the heels of the MVP race Fact or Fiction: Kobe is more skilled than Lebron? FACT: But Lebron as we know is more athletic than Kobe (and anybody in the history of the NBA to be honest). Tom Thibodeau who is the Boston Celtics de facto defensive coordinator said that Kobe is the only player in the history of sports with no tendencies. He can do anything from anywhere at anytime at a level high enough to beat you. You can't name one weakness in any facet of his game! Go ahead and try to think of one and hold your breath in the process. Kobe is also pretty much recognized unanimously as the most fundamentally sound player ever as well. Ask coaches, gm's, players etc. This includes the Big Fundamental himself Timmy D. Lebron to his credit has worked hard to lessen his weaknesses and he has. His shot is much more fluid, his ball handling is much better, and he's just improved overall. But, he has several weaknesses remaining (shot, versatility, footwork, on the ball defense) that put him a couple notches below Kobe in this re guard. Just so happens though that he's 6'9, 270 lbs, runs like a cheetah, and flys like a 757 so some of the weaknesses kinda don't matter. Fact or Fiction: You would rather have Kobe with the ball in his hands in crunch time than Lebron? FACT: The reason why I don't understand why this argument is split down the middle is because most Lebron fans openly admit that in crunch time you want Kobe taking the game deciding shots. I would argue and so would many others including Lebron fans that you'd rather have Kobe taking crunch time money shots more than anybody in the history of the NBA (MJ included). Ask Phil Jackson or how about you ask Lebron himself. He will tell you this. I was always taught there's a thin line between best and great. As well as there is a thin line between great and good. Great players like Lebron, Dwade, Carmelo, and Kobe will always go tit for tat throughout the course of games due to competitive drive and God given talent. But if indeed separating the best from great comes in the form of crunch time money ball then Kobe has to be the best. At least until King James wins the ultimate crown known as the Larry O' Brien. If and when he does that, everything changes as far as hierarchy of players goes. That may not seem fair because it's a team sport but that's how all greats have been judged so it's only right. Fact or Fiction: Lebron fans make it hard for Kobe fans to like Lebron sometimes? FACT: I'm sure this is true the other way around but I'm a Kobe fan so you gotta hear that from the other side. I've always liked Lebron but I realized early last year that I didn't love him because his fans have cake and eat it to mentality towards his legacy thus far. Lebron fans reserve the right every year to carry the Big and Little Joker in their pocket and pull them out every year that he loses. The little joker= "he's still young" and the big joker is "he has no team". Let's examine these excuses closely. Lebron is young in terms of non basketball age. But when you're a 4 or 5 year veteran or better as an adult you're not young. Sorry that's just how it is. You've seen just about everything there is to see on a basketball court playing heavy minutes in the NBA for 4+ seasons at 82 games per plus the playoffs. Big joker=Lebron has no team. Granted, Lebron isn't playing with Magic's Showtime Lakers or those great Bulls teams of the 90's but Lebron has a good team around him. My question to Bron Bron fans is can he play with other greats? Or will his lack of offensive versatility always make it better than for him to play with "component" players as opposed to other superstars. Can Lebron play with a true point guard? Can he play with a true dominant big man? We've never seen Lebron operate without the ball in a 1-4 high or low at the top of the key. Can he play off the ball manipulate defenses from other parts of the floor like Kobe? Can he be effective in the post? How much do his limits in half court offense limit what players you can put around him? In a 7 game series it's hard to win when everyone knows exactly where your gonna be at and exactly what you're gonna do unless your a big man on the low block. You might get your stats but can the team flourish to the tune of an NBA title? My theory is Lebron's skill sets force him into playing with role players and spot up shooters because he can't or won't post up often or play off the ball to compromise the defense from multiple angles. If you post up and get doubled you have cutters to the front of the rim and backdoor opportunities. If you operate from the wing you can swing the ball weak side for open 3's and dribble drive shots at the rim. If you operate solely from the top in a 1-4 high offense your only option is drive and kick to stand still shooters. That's just the truth! So, for you LB fans that think these questions are not valid please answer me how aren't they? Fact or Fiction: Lebron plays better defense than Kobe? FICTION: This is what frustrates me about the King James hype machine. LB received votes for Defensive Player of the Year last year. Chasing down a guy from behind to block his shot is a great defensive play, but that doesn't make you a great defensive player. Lebron is a good half court defender but would you really take him to get critical stops late in playoff games over the Black Mamba? Fact or Fiction: Lebron is better than Kobe? FICTION: Sorry folks, it's just true but LB will have his time to be the best I'm assuming starting after next year. In closing let me say I'm no fool (even though you may think so after reading this) and I know how great Lebron is and will continue to be. But what I'm also saying is no player has ever been allowed to have the mythical title of Best Player in the world without a ring. People didn't even give MJ that benefit until he won his first one. You especially can't be the best player when the guy your competing with for that crown is the current NBA Champ and Finals MVP. You can be great and take that #2 spot but not #1. But like I said, win that ring and to the victor goes the spoils along with the proverbial passing of the torch. I can't be mad when it happens because Kobe has been carrying that torch for a LONG TIME now. All good things must come to an end-Just Not Yet!!!! This Article was written by Bob Billow AKA "The Book on Sports"

Friday, April 9, 2010

Sports Blogging Will Never Be The Same; 'The Book' Has Arrived(and I'm here to stay)

Someone has to save the sports blogging world from itself with common sense, truthfulness, and superior knowledge and that someone is me. My name is Bob Billow and I was dubbed "The Book on Sports" for a reason. Because when it comes to sports I'm most often right and I can provide you with the insight needed to watch your favorite sports in a much more enlightened mind state!



Even when you disagree with my opinion you'll see I have extremely valid points to my argument; not empty and hateful rhetoric. Unfortunately sports blogging has stooped to the level of ungrateful fans spewing their venom and hatred towards world famous athletes for the level of wealth and fame they attain. But fear not, for my voice of reason will prevail and more often than not you'll be able to read accurate and insightful info.

This blog will tackle old topics, new topics, and the hottest stories in a way unlike any other blog site can!!!!!

Welcome to "The Book"-Come On In and Stay Awhile